Mountain Climbing

I know, I know, I’m a terrible blogger, I’m still blogging about stuff that happened in May!

I’m almost done though!

Ry hadn’t started work during his first month in Hong Kong so he had a lot of spare time to kill while I brought home the bacon 😉

As we live next to loads of mountains, he decided to climb them and took some pretty awesome photos!

Image

Image

I wanted to do some exercise and get some rad photos too, so we climbed the mountain behind our apartment on a really hot day; I think it was around 30-odd degrees!

I knew this probably wasn’t the best idea, but assumed it would better than being stuck inside all day…

Image

The mountain to conquer!

Image

Casual stretching on the sidewalk.

Image

Postboxes for mountain dwellers.

Image

Image

Image

199M down on the Tuen Mun trail!

Image

Having a rest and a glug of water!

Image

Image

We came across a lovely shrine full of Chinese God and Goddess ornaments!

I wasn’t sure why there were so many on a mountain and Google didn’t help me out either, so I asked a colleague at work who seemed to think that people may have bought too many for their house, so decided to pop them up there instead.

I’m not sure how accurate her theory is, so if anyone has any ideas why there are shrines on mountains, we’d love to hear from you!

Image

I know that there’s lots of Chinese Goddesses, but I’m not sure what these ones stand for, so any ideas are appreciated! I did a little research online and found that there are goddesses for: the moon, the sea, mercy, the symbolic protector of females and many more.

The coolest deity that I found was Long Mu, also known as the Mother of Dragons. In Chinese mythology, Long Mu was a Chinese woman who was deified as a goddess after raising five infant dragons. Long Mu and her dragons developed a strong bond for each other; therefore they have become an example of filial devotion and parental love, which is an important virtue in Chinese culture.

Pretty similar to a certain Game of Thrones character huh? 😉

Image

Sorry, I had to include a picture. Such a babe.

Image

Image

Image

The Chinese also have lots of Gods. Again, not sure who is who, apart from Buddha, so any advice would be helpful!

After another little rummage online, I found that there are Gods for: prosperity, protection, water, thunder, healing, farming and cultivation.

The most surprising find has to be Tu Er Shen, a Chinese deity who manages the love and sex lives of homosexual men, whose name translates into “rabbit deity.”

Image

Image

Onward and upwards!

Image

A little analogue snap ^.^

Image

Image

Image

Image

My playsuit is from Primark; it’s so light and comfortable, perfect for the summer!

Image

We only managed to get half way up the mountain before I was severely uncomfortable with the heat and the rising number of mosquito bites all over me!

They never seem to go for Ryan though, probably because his bloody isn’t as sweet! :p

We found a little spot to cool down…

Image

Image

Image

Image

… before making our way back to the flat for a cold shower!

Note to self: Never try to climb a mountain when it’s over 30°C.

xxx

Leave a Reply

