Nan’s birthday

Last month, we went out to dinner for nan’s birthday with all my relatives.

We hired a room out at a restaurant in Tseun Wan.

Image

It was a noisy affair with lots of food!

Image

First up, we shared a roasted piglet, a traditional Chinese dish at celebrations.

It’s mostly crunchy skin, which you can dip into hoisin sauce.

Ry didn’t enjoy it though because he said it tasted like ham wrapped in pork scratching. I’m a big fan of both of the aforementioned, so I loved it 🙂

Image

Lobster and noodles are another traditional celebration dish.

My auntie told me that the type of noodles in this dish symbolizes a long life – I think this relates to the name.

Unfortunately I found the noodles too sticky and the sauce too thick, but I thought the noodle fact was pretty interesting!

Image

Clams and another shellfish (that I don’t know the name of), on a base of celery.

I love most shellfish so this was pretty tasty!

Image

We had abalone and ducks feet with broccoli.

I love abalone (although these ones were too chewy), but it’s definitely a special treat as it’s so expensive!

We’re not fans of duck’s feet though.

Image

Mid way through the many dishes of the meal, my auntie set up a game of Bingo.

We were the first winners of a grand total of $30! 😀

Image

Image

Image

I think pretty much everyone won a little red envelope (of money) at some point during the night 🙂

Image

Lots of food, noise, games and birthday buns.

Happy birthday, nan! ^.^

Image

 

xxx

One thought on “Nan’s birthday

Leave a Reply

