2013: Part 1 (of 3)

Alright strangers!

Sorry this post is about 3 weeks late, but better late than never right?! 😉

This is a roundup of my first month in Hong Kong before Ryan arrived.

I came over to HK mid-January with my parents, had a job interview a few days after I arrived and was offered the job that evening! I accepted the offer and am still here today, almost a year later – doesn’t time fly?!

Anyway, I didn’t start work until my parents left, so here are my highlights from January.

Goodbye England!

Image Image

Hey HK! 😀

Image

One of the best things about travelling around with your parents (apart from the great company, obviously) is the FREE FOOD!

Here are a few cheeky snaps that I took…

Congee – one of my favourite brunches!

Image

Noodles, wontons and beefy bits…

Image

Cheung-fun (rice rolls in hoisin, chili and soy sauce topped with sesame) and siu-mai

Image

Dim sum!

Image

Street food (squid, porks intestines and spicy fishballs)

Image

Oysters!

Image

Chinese desserts – my favourite is the mango pomelo sago (composed of mango, pomelo, sago, coconut milk, cream and sugar)

Image

A MASSIVE BOWL OF NOODLES!

Image

One of my mum’s first stops in HK is always the Wong Tai Sin Temple, where she prays and gets her fortune told…

Image

Image

And of course, no trip to HK is complete without visiting Mong Kok!

Image

Image

It was awesome when my cousins returned for a short break from Australia and kept me company.

We watched Django, which was BRILLANT!

Edison also took me on my first (of many) trips to Victoria Harbour – I can’t believe I’d never seen HK’s iconic skyline before!

Image

Image

Image

There also happened to be an Andy Warhol Exhibition on at the HK Museum of Art just around the corner, so we popped in and had a look round as I’m a pretty big fan of his work! 😀

Image

Image

This room was filled with silver balloons that just floated around.

Image

After wandering around TST a little more and passing a giant flying pig…

Image

…we decided to call it a day and chilled out with a fruity Starbucks concoction.

Image

Another highlight in January was the food tour in Mainland China…

Image

Image

…where we stayed in a 5 star hotel (I got a bit overexcited and had jumped on the bed before taking a photo!)

Image

I had the best buffet that I’ve ever had in my life!

Anywhere with an unlimited selection of fresh shellfish is right up my street! 😀

Image

Although I enjoyed the buffet, I wasn’t such a massive fan of the rest of the food on the tour – probably because we ate so regularly that I was never hungry enough to enjoy it! I

really couldn’t handle a hot pot first thing in the morning…

Image

…but giant pandas, I can deal with anytime of day 😉

Image

Back in HK, Cheung Chau is one of my favourite islands for a daytrip.

The relaxed, rural atmosphere is great when you need a break from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

It’s even better because they do delicious, fresh egg tarts!

Image

Image

My parents left HK at the end of January, so obviously we had an epic leaving dinner!

Image

Image

Seeing my parents off at the airport, being settling into HK life with my auntie 🙂

Image

I’ll leave you with a photo that I took in Yuen Long.

I really wanted to incorporate it into this post but couldn’t find the right place for it, so I’m just going to pop it here!

Image

Stay tuned for part 2 😉

xxx

Leave a Reply

